WhatsApp says users must either agree to the new rules or export chat history and account report on Android and iOS by May 15th. Second option is irreversible
IT News Nigeria:
Facebook, owners of the popular messenger WhatsApp has reminded its 2 billion users that the time allowed to accept the new rules is coming to an end.
This is contained in a release today on its page as reported by Gizchina.
“In order for you to have enough time to familiarize yourself with the changes at your own pace, we have extended the deadline for their adoption until May 15th. If you have not accepted them by this time, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, the functionality of your WhatsApp account will be limited until the changes are accepted. For a short period of time, you will be able to receive calls and notifications; but you will not be able to read and send messages in the application.” the company stated.
It further revealed that WhatsApp users must either agree to the new rule or export chat history and account report on Android and iOS by May 15th.
Second option means that users can delete their WhatsApp account. However the company has warned that this choice is irreversible, adding, after deletion, the backup copy and all message history will be permanently deleted.