Home » Events » NCS announces Gov. Sanwo-Olu NITMA 2021 chair, to launch Innovation Fund
NITMA 2021

NCS announces Gov. Sanwo-Olu NITMA 2021 chair, to launch Innovation Fund

Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) announced today Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu will Chair the 2021 National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA) and is set to launch Innovation Fund for tech startups at the November 18, 2021 in Lagos.


IT News Nigeria:

NCS is the umbrella association of IT professionals, interest groups and stakeholders in Nigeria’s tech sector with about 20,000 members.

NCS President, Professor Adesina Sodiya said this today during a press briefing at the Society’s office in Lagos. In choosing the awards, he said the key areas and issues affecting growth in the sector and society are addressed, adding that for all awards, key criteria include IT specialisations, NCS standards and global best practices. The hybrid event holds at Muson Centre.

He added other side attraction is the launching of NCS education fund for innovation, research and development by HIS Excellency Engr. Abdullahi A. Sule Executive Governor of Nasarawa State and Mr. Leo Stan Ekeh, Chairman Zinox Technologies.

According to him, in line with the advocacy efforts of NCS to achieve sustainable development, and promoting digital economy in Nigeria through Information Technology, NCS promotes excellence and significant impact.

“I urge you to join NCS to celebrate the champions who are using technology to change society for good.Annually the Nigeria Computer Society recognizes, celebrates, and rewards outstanding excellence and exceptional contributions in the Information Technology field through the unique national platform NITMA provides. Our focus as a society is progress for the sector and for the nation. As the acknowledged professional authority facilitating the development of an inclusive, globally competitive, prosperous, and knowledge-based digital economy in Nigeria, NCS is committed to recognizing and rewarding outstanding hard work and excellence in accelerating IT development.”

READ ALSO  International Youth Day 2022: FirstBank Celebrates The Youth

NITMA Awards

Category of NCS Awards includes


The president said the Professional Fellowship will be conferred on members of NCS who are recognized as authorities in their field of computing and have distinguished themselves through significant contribution to the growth of Information Technology through their professional expertise and activities. This year we are having the highest number of conferees in the annal history of NCS, fifty-one (51). Amongst the conferees is the Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Dr. Kadri Obafemi Hamsat. Honourary Fellowship will be conferred on distinguished personalities for their dedication and exemplary service to IT growth and development in Nigeria.

Who is nominated for NITMA 2021 Awards

The honourary fellowship awardees are:

  1. Dr. Bayero Garba Agabi,  founder of DigiVation Network.
  2. Mr. Kayode Sobajo, founder/Chairman /CEO, HIIT PLC
  3. Tim. Akano, MD/CEO, New Horizons Plc

IT Personality of the year:

The IT Personality Year Award also known as the NCS President’s award will be given. NCS will acknowledge and celebrate individuals that have excelled in our tech sector during the year. In 2021, nominees for this most prestigious award are: Mr. Iyinoluwa Aboyeji, General Partner/Co-Founder, Future Africa, Professor Stella Chiemeke, Vice Chancellor University of Delta, Mr. Kazeem Tewogbade MD/CEO Bluechips Technologies

Digital Governor of the year award:

NCS will also be rewarding tremendous use and application of IT in governance to deserving executive Governors. Nominees for this prestigious award are

  1. His Excellency, Engr. Abdullahi A. Sule, Executive Governor of Nasarawa State
  2. His Excellency, RT.  Hon. I. Ugwuayi, Executive Governor, Enugu State.
  3. His Excellency, Senator Bala Mohammed, Executive Governor, Bauchi State.
READ ALSO  Ex-ATCON President launches new Africa Digital Economy Forum

IT Gold Merit Award:

This award is giving to Mr. Kashifu A. Inuwa, DG/CEO National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) and Dr. Bashir Jimoh , DG/CEO, Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) for their innovative ideas towards moving IT to the next level.

Other individuals and organizations will be recognized and honoured with Special Recognition Awards for their undeniable and huge contributions in the IT and related areas.

IT Company of the year

Nominated Companies are:

Zinox Technologies

Newwaves Ecosytems

Data Sciences Nigeria

Eminent personalities expected in the event are Honorable Minister of Communication and Digital Economy Prof. Isa Ali Ibrahim (Pantami), Executive Governor of Lagos State Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu among others. In adherence to COVID-19 protocols, the attendance is being controlled and is strictly by invitation.

Share This:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Register to Attend: Infobip hosts Webinar on sustainable cross-border eCommerce business

Infobip invites stakeholders to learn what ...


Join FirstBank’s ‘Nigeria Economic Outlook webinar for 2022’ today

FirstBank says its “Nigerian Economic Outlook ...


Creditswitch bags prestigious NTITA Unified VAS awards

Creditswitch has won the highly coveted ...


Zinox bags 2021 Technology Company of the Year award

Leading integrated Information and Communication Technology ...


CyberAfrica Magazine @10 institutes a Pan-African Digital Award

As part of activities to mark ...

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar